Admin Sign In 

Public Companies 

Public companies have shares available to the public. They have issued securities through an initial public offering and are traded on a stock exchange or market.
Last update: Sep 30, 2009 URL: http://libguides.owen.vanderbilt.edu/publiccompany  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  
 

About Public Company Research

Unlike private companies, public companies are required to file with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Therefore financial statements and other company information is available for public view. Resources for company financials and stock information can be found in separate guides.

WML Databases

  • Morningstar Document Research (formerly 10-K Wizard)  
    Real-time online access and full-text search of extensive financial information for publicly traded firms. The latest SEC filings plus historical filings, from the start date of each company's existence, by keyword, phrase and name.
  • Bloomberg  
    Real-time and historical information on economic conditions, market data and public companies worldwide along with governments, mortgages, money markets, bonds, commodities, stocks, and currencies.
  • Business Source Premier  
    Covers most subject areas related to business: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
  • D&B Million Dollar Database  
    D&B Million Dollar Database provides brief information on 15 million private and public U.S. companies and 8 million international companies. The directory information includes: address, sales, number of employees, industry classification (SIC and NAICS), type of ownership, and names of chief executives. You can generate lists of companies meeting specific criteria (geography, sales size, employee size, industry) and download the results.
  • EDGAR  
    Free database of public company filings collected by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Full-text of company annual 10-K reports, quarterly 10-Q reports, proxy statements, prospectus, etc. from 1994-Present. See LIVEDGAR for more options.
  • Factiva  
    Full-text of business magazines, trade publications, & newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Use the submenus to refine your search by source, company, subject, industry, region and/or language.
  • Hoover's  
    Basic information on 12 million worldwide companies & in-depth profiles of more than 40,000 public & private companies. Profile may include company description, historical profile, competitors, financials, products/operations, industry information, etc.
  • MarketLine Business Information Center  
    Locate detailed company, industry, & country profiles published by Datamonitor. Business description, history, major products & services, locations & subsidiaries, top competitors, SWOT analysis, market overview, value, share & forecasts included.
  • Mergent Online  
    Detailed corporate financial histories (including capital changes) & operational histories for international public companies. Customized reports on a company or multiple companies can be created & data can be downloaded into Excel. Quick user guide.
  • OneSource  
    In depth details on 80,000+ international companies & their executives as well as 350,000+ U.S. and Canadian public & private companies & their executives. Includes financials, subsidiaries, trade and business news, and research reports.
  • S&P NetAdvantage  
    Provides fulltext access to a variety of S&P publications including the electronic full text versions of the Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. Surveys contain information about current trends, how the industry operates, key ratios & statistics.
  • UniWorld  
    Find U.S. corporations with operations in other countries & firms based in other countries with locations in the U.S. Searchable by: region, country, state, keyword, industry type, revenue, # of employees & zip code which can be exported into MS Excel.
  • Vault Online Career Library  
    Industry and career guides, including employer profiles; books & reports that offer advice on consulting case interviews, financial interviews, & career trends. Access to message boards. NOTE: In order to download Vault e-books, you will need to submit yo
 

Search For More Databases

The Walker Management Library has access to dozens of Owen Graduate School of Management and Vanderbilt University licensed databases. These resources provide access to business news and journals, as well as highly specialized content on an extensive range of business topics and research disciplines. Access and use restrictions apply to some resources, and use of these resources imply acceptance of our Copyright and Licensing Restrictions. Databases can be found in the following ways:

 

WML Profile

Profile ImageWalker Management Library
Contact Info:
Walker Management Library
Owen Graduate School of Management
401 21st. Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
(615) 322-2970
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait