Admin Sign In 

Nonprofit Companies & Organizations 

The non-profit or not-for-profit sector can include government or other organizations, charities and companies.
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.owen.vanderbilt.edu/nonprofit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  
 

About Nonprofit Company Research

This type of information can be more difficult to locate than information on publicly held entities. There are two approaches that usually will help you with most research needs in this area: how to find them and how to find in-depth background information on specific ones.

WML Databases

  • Business & Industry  
    Broad business information database that focuses on facts, figures, events and market information about companies, industries, products and markets. Use ADVANCED SEARCH for more precise search options.
  • Business Source Premier  
    Covers most subject areas related to business: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
  • CareerSearch  
    Covers U.S. (public and private), Canadian, & international companies, universities, & non-profit organizations. Search criteria includes location, industry, SIC codes, and other elements. Can also be used to identify competitors by industry and SIC code.
  • Encyclopedia of Associations (Gale)  
    Provides access and cross searching for the Gale online directories including the Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations, National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations, and Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S
  • Factiva  
    Full-text of business magazines, trade publications, & newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Use the submenus to refine your search by source, company, subject, industry, region and/or language.
  • Foundation Directory Online Professional  
    Provides subscribers with access to comprehensive information on grantmakers & their grants. Includes over 96,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, & grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 3,500 sponsoring companies; a database of over 1.5 million recently awarded grants; & a keyword-searchable database of over 561,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF. Tutorial
  • Gale Directory Library  
    Provides access and cross searching for the Gale online directories including: Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations; National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations; and Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
  • ProQuest  
    A multi-disciplinary database with full text availability for nearly 2,000 journals in all academic fields. It includes same-day, full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
  • TableBase  
    Contains tables & text excerpted from numerous publications. Using the ADVANCED SEARCH option, users can limit searches by choosing from lists of concept terms, marketing terms, countries, industries, & document types.
 

Search For More Databases

The Walker Management Library has access to dozens of Owen Graduate School of Management and Vanderbilt University licensed databases. These resources provide access to business news and journals, as well as highly specialized content on an extensive range of business topics and research disciplines. Access and use restrictions apply to some resources, and use of these resources imply acceptance of our Copyright and Licensing Restrictions. Databases can be found in the following ways:

 

WML Profile

Profile ImageWalker Management Library
Contact Info:
Walker Management Library
Owen Graduate School of Management
401 21st. Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
(615) 322-2970
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait