Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Private Companies 

Private companies are corporations that have not offered securities or shares to the public; they can be small "mom and pops" or large multinationals.
Last update: Sep 30th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.owen.vanderbilt.edu/privatecompany  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  
 

About Private Company Research

Unlike public companies, private companies are not regulated by the federal government. Therefore, it is at the discretion of a private company if, and what, they want to disclose about themselves. It can be more difficult and time consuming to locate information about private companies. However, there are many methods and resources. The resources in this guide will help you get started.

WML Databases

  • Business Source Premier  
    Covers most subject areas related to business: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
  • Company Dossier (Lexis/Nexis)  
    Provides data on more than 35 million private & public companies in U.S. & worldwide. Company profiles, contacts, executives, products, competitors, financial, legal information, including intellectual property & recent company news.
  • D&B Million Dollar Database  
    D&B Million Dollar Database provides brief information on 15 million private and public U.S. companies and 8 million international companies. The directory information includes: address, sales, number of employees, industry classification (SIC and NAICS), type of ownership, and names of chief executives. You can generate lists of companies meeting specific criteria (geography, sales size, employee size, industry) and download the results.
  • Factiva  
    Full-text of business magazines, trade publications, & newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Use the submenus to refine your search by source, company, subject, industry, region and/or language.
  • Hoover's  
    Basic information on 12 million worldwide companies & in-depth profiles of more than 40,000 public & private companies. Profile may include company description, historical profile, competitors, financials, products/operations, industry information, etc.
  • OneSource  
    In depth details on 80,000+ international companies & their executives as well as 350,000+ U.S. and Canadian public & private companies & their executives. Includes financials, subsidiaries, trade and business news, and research reports.
  • UniWorld  
    Find U.S. corporations with operations in other countries & firms based in other countries with locations in the U.S. Searchable by: region, country, state, keyword, industry type, revenue, # of employees & zip code which can be exported into MS Excel.
 

Search For More Databases

The Walker Management Library has access to dozens of Owen Graduate School of Management and Vanderbilt University licensed databases. These resources provide access to business news and journals, as well as highly specialized content on an extensive range of business topics and research disciplines. Access and use restrictions apply to some resources, and use of these resources imply acceptance of our Copyright and Licensing Restrictions. Databases can be found in the following ways:

 

WML Profile

Profile ImageWalker Management Library
Contact Info:
Walker Management Library
Owen Graduate School of Management
401 21st. Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
(615) 322-2970
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait